My thoughts/opinions/comments on rolling stone’s “50 greatest live acts right now” part 1

Blame this on a radio show I listen to ((not on the radio however..I listen to a podcast of their show..haha))…I’ve been asked on rare occasions who the best band I’ve seen live was..or best concert I’ve been to..or something or somethings to that effect….SO that got me brainstorming..and obsessively jotting down notes…..and I’m working on a blog that is the 50 or so best bands/live shows/whatever that I’ve seen…Until that (((not that anyone gives a fuck..but for my sake if nothing more)))…I’ve decided to go through the rolling stone list and comment on how incorrect it all is ;)….jk…a little bit…and as this is quickly becoming loooooong…my personal list will be a separate blog..or 4…maybe 3…..could be 5..but 3 is good I think….I don’t know that I’ll even have a list of 50 so once I’ve made my list ((((which I plan on doing rather..ingeniously)))…those blogs will follow….or not….but they will….yep…uhm hmmm ((((don’t think I’ve forgotten about my best of 2012 movies blog that no one aked for so I’m probably not going to post..or maybe I’ll post it February 2014…hahahhaa….also I’ve literally written a good handful of blogs that I haven’t posted….I have a ton of movie “reviews’ that I’ve not posted…but clearly no one gives a fuck so…while I do take the time and energy to write them…..I don’t have the time to share with a world that doesn’t give a fuck :D~

anywho..moving along….read my nonsense that adds nothing to something you probably don’t care all that much about…and get excited for glimpses of my favourite live acts ((((that probably really is the best way to word it..my favourite…”Best” is really a bit of a crock…I even thought of just having a 5 way tie or however many way tie for each position..so really….a top 5 in no particular order…followed by a group of ten..and another five..or what have you))))….blah blah blah and awayyyy we go. [[[[[[[[I like to needlessly point things out such as I just wrote all of the above AFTER commenting on 50-46..so really now I’m returning to 45…and 45 doesn’t even warrant a spot in the top 100 imo..hahahaha]]]]]]]]]

 
50 Greatest Live Acts Right Now….according to Rolling Stone magazine.

50. Fiona Apple

As far as I know she’s not all that active currently..she does keep crapping out albums despite labels not wanting anything to do with her crazy ass…yeah…I don’t often if EVER hear anyone talk about how amazing fionna apple was live….so…yeah..just…..I’m going to call bs on this one.

49. Taylor Swift

She uses lots of backing tracks…uses lots of writers….other than perhaps the look how adorable she is even though she jumps from guy to guy ((read sleeps around))…doesn’t qualify her for this list I don’t think..but then I’ve not seen her “live” and in concert….what I have seen of her “live” on various award shows….she maybe just MAY be worthy of cracking 50..but…yeah probably not.

48. Green Day

Hmm. I don’t think green day even warrants a spot on my list…I have only seen them once but it wasn’t all that impressive….the crowd was full of ’14 year old girls’ and their soccer moms….the few songs they played from dookie or before….the crowd was awful quiet….I think i saw them on the american idiot tour…I don’t love that album….I think it led to green day becoming more of a joke than a great band…but….hmm. They’re okay I guess…I just wish they’d return to playing CLUBS…I think they totally could AND as green day and there’d be plenty of shows that wouldn’t sell out….if the pop stations aren’t playing them the 12 year olds that are now 20….they don’t care about green day anymore….I’ve seen that happen with lots of bands…the poseurs will all eventually move on…or in the case of green day…the “real” (or at least OLD SCHOOL) fans will move on too because they don’t like the majority of whom shows up for green day shows…..and it really is a bunch of trendy poseurs…and there not even trendy still…but I know the tour for 21 guns…drew the same mix of primarily 14 year old girls that listen to pop music, a few old hangers ons, and a lot of parents that find it okay to enjoy with their pop loving kids…..yep…that’s my thoughts on green day….not so much on them live…they’re good live..but they also really aren’t “green day” anymore….when your 3 member band features 3 backing members hiding behind the curtain..or standing in the background…..blah blah blah………..maybe in another 15 years green day will be back in the clubs..but really….green day is probably what would have become of the clash if they had kept on going….yep. ((((((((by comparison…rancid who I’m going to guess isn’t on this list is AMAZING still….STILL playing in clubs…STILL making or at least playing great music….as well as easily 49 other bands…(((see what I did there..? hahhahaha))) )))))

47. Sigur Ros

I thought they were on inactive status? I’ve never seen them…I have seen footage of their lead singer doing his solo thing…nifty video show..but…yeah….I dunno…I haven’t seen them I can’t comment on them other than what I just did say. Hahahaha (((I do kind of like their rather bizarre music and their songs composed of words they made up…but I arrived very late to the siguor ros train….and it is what it is i reckon)))

46. Tool

I’ve seen puscifer once and a perfect circle numerous times…pusicfer > apc imo….but that’s because of a mish mash track record for the experiences with a perfect circle ((((first time they opened for nine inch nails and their sound sucked…probably because trent wanted them to sound like shit compared to nin….haha….one time the crowd was full of way to many people who wanted to drop to their knees and service maynard…..people who booed the mars volta….people who clearly don’t know shit about music..but even that aside…there was a bunch of frat boyesque jock asshole types at that show..and apc may have been good but I couldn’t enjoy being surrounded by assholes))))) back on point; I’ve never experienced tool live. There shows always sell out in negative seven seconds…the fan base seem to be a bunch of people that go to see tool because it’s cool….not quite hipsters but people who act like hipsters….anywho…the reviews of people who I’ve heard talk about their experiences with tool are mostly not all that great…..they sound great but they do nothing on stage….and of course maynard would sit at home and sing via skype if he could get away with it….and another group that’s not all that active currently…this list is clearly a crock of shit itinit?

45. Lady Gaga

Yeah…No. Just no…. I immediately couldn’t stand her….then I saw things and read things..heard things that suggested she actually has some talent….but turns otu she lip syncs….has ghost writers (((i know who doesn’t right?)))….has daddy issues..abuses drugs…..glorifies homosexuals ((((sure you can do what you want….I can dislike you for praising deviants…HAhahahaha…there IS sarcasm there…but she really goes a bit far with her little monsters shit…she basically makes it out to if you don’t love her you’re an asshole..while claiming not to give a fuck..but her actions speak louder than whomever wrote her lyrics :DDDDD )))))…..where was I…oh yeah…she’s really not all that talented…she learned being an attention whore and praising a marginalized audience would make her $$$$$$…her “art” is crap….and she may just be the most over rated performer of the last…let’s say 15 years to be fair….awful awful awful crap she creates…and recently she’s done some weird ‘erotic yoga’ tape…..clearly a GREAT role model for all her little monsters… 😀

44. Janelle Monae

I think I almost bumped into her at bumbershoot a few years back..if she’s who I think she is…in other words I’m not sure i know her music or anything..but I’ve heard the name..and without researching.i stand by my opening statement….I can’t comment on her much else but I can say I highly doubt she warrants a spot in the top 50

43. Mumford and Sons

Hello we somehow cracked the top 40 playing banjos…hipsters love us and moms think we’re neat….         (((I could leave it at that…but I will add they are at least talented musicians…not sure how much that can be said of the previous 7..aside from probably tool;;; and b… what I’ve seen of them live..not all that exciting….but this isn’t 50 most exciting….’yeah but still’ )))

42. Skrillex

Baaahhh hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah………………………..hahahahaha and so on. I saw sonny when he was the lead singer of from first to last…they weren’t terrible….I enjoy electronica…or as it’s all labeled now “EDM”…..I don’t mind skrillex….but there is really NO WAY…he deserves a spot in the top 50 greatest live acts…because of course he doesn’t perform live (i keed..but you know people will argue that till the cows come home)…I KNOW there are faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar superior live djs or electronic acts….I get how skrillex would be the representative of edm to make the list..however I would go further and say he’s not all that relevant as I type this…his 13 minutes have waned….maybe even this wave of electronic music has run its course..I liked the late 90s run when it was “the next big thing” much better personally….but I guess it’s all good if a few people get beyond what is forced down their throats…..

41. Tame Impala

It’s rare that I can say…I have no fucking clue who that is…but …I have no fucking clue who that is…so.there you go.

40. Eric Church

country itinit he? I don’t have much to say about him either…hahahaha….

39. Rush

I’ve seen rush. They were pretty bad ass…3 guys that can produce a symphony..sure there’s lots of equipment helping that out but…green day can’t do it and their music is simple by comparison……..short backstory…I loved the song tom sawyer….didn’t “know” it was rush for years upon years…bought a greatest hitsish collection…kind of because I recognized a few songs…..purchased rush in rio years later…and eventually saw them…I wouldn’t call myself a rush head or…whatever a rushite would be referred to as…but they really are quite good live…pretty entertaining as well…how many trios of old canadians making music can both be said about? …oh and of course neil peart is the best drummer on god’s green earth…..

38. Queens of the Stone Age

They had one hit…josh homme is nuts….the band has had 95 members….however I have always heard they are great live…I’ve never seen them….I wouldn’t know….hahaha….

37. The National

“whooo?”

36. Florence and the Machine

aww hell no….I’ve watched her live as it happened via a webstream…..she’s not great….she has mostly awful music…but somehow she cracked the mainstream and I think hipsters like her…once she’s gone back to obscurity;;;;oh wait I think she has hasn’t she?……yeah….just no…

35. Bruno Mars

Hell to the fuck yes. His songs really are quite simple…but that’s what makes them so great….I recently had the fortune of seeing him live and in person..from row 11…via a ticket bought to a show that was sold out until magically the day of more were released…..I’d of been happy in the nose bleeds but it was quite amazing from row 11….he might crack my top 15….certainly 25…but maybe not…we shall see….in any case….amazing showman….amazing musician….and his crew/band that backs him…good good shit.

34. Foo Fighters

I’ve only seen pre-recorded live performances…but I feel like they deserve to be higher….I quite enjoy but rarely listen to their music….but dave grohl and the rest of the guys are music connoisseurs…so even if they were awful….I’d have mad respect…”don’t want to be your monkey wrench…”

33. Beyonce

I’d like again just to say ‘bah hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahaha’….and her superbowl hafltime performance…..leads me to believe.yes indeedy….bah hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…..I think beyonces talent is having a giant ass and banging jay z…everything EVERYTHING I’ve ever seen of her “live”…..is laugh inducing….if this were top 50 comedians currently performing…she’d surely deserve slot 50 imo…..her terrible hypocritical contradictory music (or “music”..HA)..aside…..maybe she would blow me away if I were to find myself in an arena watching her…but the chance of that happening are slim to almost none…..so..yeah…beyonce is as crazy and egocentric as mariah carey….with a quarter of the actual talent…((which mariah may have had but no longer possess))….

32. Sleigh Bells

uh..uhm…uhhh..uh huh huh huh huh….sleigh bells…uh huh huh huh huh huh..yeah….bells….

31. David Byrne

I surely wouldn’t know….via the radio station that I heard this list being talked about..one of the djs said he’s only heard good things..so thusly I can say that too…lol…allegedly he’s that dude from the talking heads….the talking heads were kind of before my time…or to avant-garde for me at that time..sooo…I shouldn’t have said even all that….I have no clue or idea if he’s any good….I probably know some of his music but am not even aware that I do….so..yeah..there you are.

30. Madonna

see number 33….her too…superbowl…quite lame…she had plenty of hits 30 years ago ((exaggeration yes I know))….she’s also a blowhard uppity bitch…she likely has a TON of lip syncing in her past….and the recent present..I’m sure she’ll continue in the future…But much like someone higher up on the list….maddonna IS madonna… ((and oooh showing up 3 hours late for her own show last year in seattle….yep…she thinks she’s hotter than her shit that surely does stink))……..and without madonna…maybe we’d have been spared the awfulness that is lady gaga…..yeah…..and so………….

that seems as good a place to finish the first part and as I already typed below before this very line ((((really not supposed to do that when writing right? Point out the fact that things were written in wonky order….but I am..because I can..and that fact could be more enjoyable to those unfortunate souls who dipped their toes into the pool and kept reading….if not humor you…maybe allow you to appreciate my obvious genius that is at play…hahahaha…yep….I’m surely not a blowhard like madonna.. :D))))))

[[[[[besides…I’m bored with writing….or more so tired with typing….it’s clearly a complete waste of time to boot but my legacy will be sup bar writing if nothing else when I one day depart this earth…..and self depreciateive tone aside….I really do think I’m a fucking genius and my writing is mostly pretty fucking brilliant…but I heard or read or something once..nay many times…write what your audience is thinking..and as no one compliments me on my ingeniousness and brilliant writing…surely you all think it’s shit…HAhahahaha and ha]]]]]]]

end part 1….haha…I’m writing bits and pieces in all types of order…leading off the next part a group that easily will be in my top ten…probably…possibly..likely even higher….how’s that for a tease? if only someone were reading anyway..ha to the ha ha….and to be even stupider or more ironic….I’ll probably post the 2nd part right after posting the first part…if not just as one huge blog but…..for the sake of almost having some sort of brevity…may just be separate entries….that’s the plan as I’m typing and with a few to go in this part one…bah hahahahhaa

 

 

 

 

so who’s excited for part two? hahahahaha….I’d have tagged the artists but that would be spoilery…wouldn’t it? If someone reads this what do you think should I tag all the bands and performers or just a few selective names as I did with this one?

About jahwoo

I am the shiznit...need more be said? If you think so..than you probably don't need to be here :-D
This entry was posted in Blogging, Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

