something different…One movie review and commentary review…Silent House……

Silent House   well WOW I didn’t know what the fuck I was watching until the last 15 minutes…that could be a good thing..but I think it was mostly a bad thing. The camera work at one point was so bad I felt like I was going to suffer motion sickness. It turns out they filmed this in a a bunch of loooooooooooooooong shots. That explains why it shifted between feeling like a traditionally shot movie, found footage, and having been shot from a 4th wall character chasing our main character around. Lots of it feels like one of those haunted houses where you’re told to put your hands on the person in front of you as you walk through. If there were actually scares of some sort that would be freaking brilliant but instead of scary..it’s looooooooooooong shots featuring heavy breathing by elizabeth olsen. Who I love but…this movie is not good. Also of note the interaction between the father and daughter in the beginning of the movie felt a little bit off….because she looks to be in her mid 20’s to late 30s and the dad talks to her like she’s 10. I’m not sure how old the character is supposed to be BUT…I recommend, even though it’s not a good movie, watching it a second time after you’ve watched it once. Knowing what you know after getting through it the first time….makes a lot of subtle things that I sure as hell didn’t catch the first time around really add to the depth of the story. There’s a word for those nuances…but that I will keep to myself unless someone reads this and asks. It COULD be seen as spoiley thus my not saying…and per always with my wonky reviews…not to say there IS anything to spoil of course but damn this was a weird effing movie until it came together..and even when or if it did…it’s still a pretty effing weird movie. Two more things at times OMFG lizzie looks like her better know, more so a few years ago than now, twin sisters mary kate and ashley. Secondly: I suggest maybe watching it the 2nd time with the commentary because A) it will enlighten you more than I am here 2. Because if you’re going to watch what isn’t a great movie a second time why wouldn’t you listen to the commentary. And 3 there’s not a whole lot of dialogue you need to hear for a very good chunk of the movie anyway… I don’t highly recommend this movie and don’t think it’s very good BUT per their own words in the commentary…there’s some very “experimental” stuff going on in it so MAYBE for that reason it’s worth checking out…even with that being said. 2*s out of 5     (((also it’s a remake of a movie from Uruguay….who knew?)))

Silent house commentary. Almost immediately I enjoy the commentary more than I did most of the movie. But like most movies that clock in around 85 minutes…that’s usually the case anyway. It’s like I almost should just watch it the first time WITH commentary on but to be fair to this movie I thought it was 5-10 minutes longer than it actually is. Anywho I briefly touched upon the commentary in my review up above. I also just noticed I meant to watch something else about 5 minutes ago but I guess….I got sucked in by the commentary…or maybe because I was writing my review…perhaps a combination of both….thus let’s go back to. Not a good movie..but good to discuss. Hmm. Therefore the commentary much more interesting than the movie. I wonder how the directors would take that? Perhaps I should find their online presence and twitter them or email them to find out. haha. Yep…commentary def. worth checking out if you watch the movie…and if you watch it first with the commentary one of the directors is even nice enough to say ‘what person watches the movie with commentary first but just in case I’ll save that for later’. So…there you go. 3.75-4.25*s for the commentary. ((roughly 4*s))

_
_
_
_
_
_
_
_
_
_

((((how about reading the back of the dvd “presented in real time as one shocking, uninterrupted shot”..so okay i get the schizo filming style…as already mentioned it isn’t actually one shot…and I think also the wonky camera work was done the way it was for the sake of the story presented..I didn’t get a “in real time” vibe from it as it feels like much more than just 85 minutes pass..but hey if you’ve seen it or if you read this and watch it…maybe you can drop some comments and let me know what you think. Of course I know that won’t happen..but It would be awesome….never have I wanted to discuss what i consider to be an awful movie with others so much…lol)))))(((((((lastly lizzie olsen seems to have found a niche in the types of characters she plays…makes one wonder about her childhood i reckon))))))

About jahwoo

I am the shiznit...need more be said? If you think so..than you probably don't need to be here :-D
This entry was posted in FIlm Movies, movie reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

